En Notas

Argentina managed to get the Ibero-American Summit to support the claim for sovereignty over the Malvinas

It was incorporated by Andorra, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Chile, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Uruguay and Venezuela.

28 de March de 2023 09:43

It took place in Santo Domingo, capital of the Dominican Republic.

This Sunday, the Government obtained the support of the heads of state gathered at the XXVIII Ibero-American Summit, taking place in the Dominican Republic, on the request to restart negotiations with the United Kingdom for the sovereignty of the Malvinas Islands.

In a special statement on the Question of the Malvinas Islands, the leaders reaffirmed the need for the Argentine and British authorities to “resume, as soon as possible, the negotiations aimed at finding a prompt solution to the sovereignty dispute over the Malvinas Islands.” , South Georgia and the South Sandwich and the surrounding maritime areas.

The positioning of the summit, approved by consensus, recalls that diplomatic conversations “must be carried out within the framework of the resolutions of the United Nations (UN), the Organization of American States (OAS) and the provisions and objectives of the Charter of the United Nations, including the principle of territorial integrity.”

The text also takes a position on the “unilateral actions” of exploration and exploitation of renewable and non-renewable resources that the United Kingdom has been carrying out in the disputed area.

By Agenda Malvinas


Other news about International

Might interest you


No comments yet

Log in or sign up to comment.